A Writing Schedule? What’s That?

Standard

Two weeks ago I was pumped. I had tweaked the outline on my teen novel, and had concocted a six-hour a day writing schedule, albeit a tad aggressive considering that I work. Anyway, I was off and running. I wrote and I wrote and I wrote, determined to get to the finish line. For the first ten days I was so motivated my heart pumped a zillion miles an hour. I didn’t waiver from the track. I could almost touch the finish line, and then BAM.

Last Wednesday night my fingers got knocked off the keyboard. Life had thrown me a curve ball. I found myself rushing my wonderful husband up to the emergency room with chest pains. I dropped him off, (I thought he was well enough to check-in), parked the car and took a deep breath. Ah, a piece of cake, we’ll be home by midnight. I need a night off from writing anyway. 

No such luck. After zipping back and forth to visit my hubby at the hospital who was hooked up to a heart monitor, and where tangled wires hung from suction cups that gripped his chest hairs, and where the stench of death lurked around every corner, I couldn’t write even I wanted to. By now I was so far off the beaten track I couldn’t see straight. Not to mention I sat by the phone waiting for a report from the hospital to let me know if…

Ring— I stared in disbelief at the call display window. Danny boy’s name (that’s what I call my hubby) popped up.

A shaky finger pressed the answer button. “Hello,” I said with trepidation worming its way up my throat.

“When are you picking me up?” he asked like he’d just finished work.

“Pick you up? B-but, you just had a heart procedure done.”

“I’m good to go.”

“Be there in thirty minutes. Danny?”

“Yes.”

“I love you and I’m so glad you’re alive.”

My writing is an exhilarating release, but when someone you love is at death’s door, it sure puts a whole new spin on what’s really important.

So much for schedules.

Has life thrown you a curve ball lately?

About Tracy Campbell

Tracy Campbell is a published artist of calendars, wrapping paper, and gift cards, and as an author of how-to-paint magazine articles, her happy heart sings again sharing the work of her hands through "Calm Coloring: Faith, Hope & Love (Art and Soul Therapy for Kids-At-Heart)". When Tracy's not writing, she loves to sharpen pencils, flip open paint lids, and yank off marker caps to create whimsical works of art just for ewe. Customers say her art is sweet and so warm the designs might leap off the page and land right in your heart. She lives with her hubby and fur baby in Wasaga Beach (the Canadian tourist town known for having the longest freshwater beach in the world). Tracy is also a rare breed dog owner, chocoholic, motorcycle mamma, antique lover, and a collector of roosters and sheep (thankfully, not live ones).

2 responses »

  1. That was a beautiful piece! I can't believe that happened to you… I'm happy he's alive! :)I have a question, I need writing advice so I can get back on track to actually feel like writing. Sometimes, I feel if I don't write, I'm not a good writer. That thought makes me want to write less. And then i lose feel for my book… What should I do???

  2. Dear Black Rose:Thank you so much for your encouraging comments. And yes, I'm very thankful my hubby is still alive.As for your question on writing, you're not alone. I too struggle with feelings of inadequacy when I'm not writing. That's normal. In fact that's how I felt today. But I pushed through and forced myself to write. Some days I don't write because life gets in the way and that's okay. We all need to make time for family, friends and other activities that are enjoyable.Why not look back a piece you wrote and pat yourself on the back for finishing it. After reading your blog, I can say with all honesty that you have talent. Just a little tip. Make sure you check for spelling errors and don't use short forms like, u for you, and r for are.I also find it helpful to read books. Reading will ignite that creative spark. I not only read for pleasure, but I also analyze the writing style and look for ways to make my writing stronger.Why not just set a realistic weekly goal instead of a daily goal. For instance, my goal is to write 3500 words a week. If I said I would write 500 words a day and I didn't, then I would feel like I had failed. On the days I don't write, I don't worry about it and I just catch up later in the week.The main thing is to keep moving forward. Don't look back. If my comments were helpful or if you have any other questions, please let me know and I'll do my best to help.Don't forget to click on my follower button. Happy Writing and Blogging

Leave a Reply

