How to Attract and Keep Readers

Standard

I’m a new writer (just under two years), and I’m currently writing an Inspirational Teen Novel. I’m learning that in order to generate interest in my work I need to have a blog. So after receiving an e-book from http://www.Aliventures.com which offers excellent advice on how to Attract and Keep Readers, I thought I’d share a few tips with other newbie writers on what a blog should include.

  • Keep the background white behind your text. But I love colour! And lots of it. I suppose that’s great for my artwork, but apparently that’s not so great when readers are trying to read a post.
  • Is your site attractive to others? Attractive? Some days I look great and well…others. Oh, that’s not what Ali was referring to. I’m still working on my site so don’t be too critical.
  • Is your font size large enough? That’s as large as I can make it.
  • Update your About page at least once a month. Give me a break. I just added information on my ‘About Tracy’ page this morning.
  • Include a Contact Page. This should include an email address. Great, I’ve done that. But apparently not all readers want information popping up in their in boxes so be sure to include a contact form. Looks like I have more work ahead of me.
  • Include a link to Twitter, Facebook and/or Linked In. Now I’m breaking out in hives. I don’t have Twitter or Facebook. Phew! But I do have a LinkedIn account. Oh no, it’s so out of date. More pressure.
  • Run feeds through FeedBurner. I just smacked my forehead. Something else I need to address.
  • Create a signature. This one’s easy enough. Just log into your email account and add your website name and any other links you may have lurking around.
  • Ask a Blogger to Link You. But what if they ignore me or worse still, laugh at me? Gulp. Start with your friends.
  • Offer Valuable Content. The plan is to share what I’ve learned thus far to newbie writer’s like myself.
  • Blog Often. My goal is to blog at least once a week. Everyday would be nice, but I wouldn’t get any other writing done.
  • Offer to Write A Guest Blog. Yeah, right. I need more writing experience under my belt. I’m having a hard time just trying to get this post up.
If you want detailed information on “How to Attract and Keep Readers”, just ask and Ali will be more than happy to send you a copy of her e-book.
If anyone has any other blogging tips. Please post your comment.
Dare to Dream Large
About Tracy Campbell

Tracy Campbell is a published artist of calendars, wrapping paper, and gift cards, and as an author of how-to-paint magazine articles, her happy heart sings again sharing the work of her hands through "Calm Coloring: Faith, Hope & Love (Art and Soul Therapy for Kids-At-Heart)". When Tracy's not writing, she loves to sharpen pencils, flip open paint lids, and yank off marker caps to create whimsical works of art just for ewe. Customers say her art is sweet and so warm the designs might leap off the page and land right in your heart. She lives with her hubby and fur baby in Wasaga Beach (the Canadian tourist town known for having the longest freshwater beach in the world). Tracy is also a rare breed dog owner, chocoholic, motorcycle mamma, antique lover, and a collector of roosters and sheep (thankfully, not live ones).

Leave a Reply

