Who or What Inspires You?

Standard

I just watched the movie Julie & Julia – The Project Blog. It’s almost 1:00 a.m. and I should be in bed sleeping. But…the movie inspired me so much that I had to put my thoughts to paper, or in this case, fingertips to the keyboard.

People who never give up inspire me. Julie Powell inspires me. I’ve never met her and probably never will. Julia Powell never met Julia Childs either. But sometimes never meeting the person you’ve built up in your mind is best left to the imagination. Why? Because we’re human and we all have flaws. Yes, even me, much to my chagrin.

For anyone who has never watched the movie, perhaps  you should. Better yet, read the book. That is, if you’re looking for inspiration.

Julie Powell was trapped in a dead-end secretarial job. Her idea to recreate 524 recipes–not a task I relish–from Julia Child’s Cookbook, Mastering the Art of French Cooking, was brilliant. Why? Because Julie Powell was looking to hone her writing and cooking skills. So she made a conscious decision to blog about  her experience and raced against the clock to cook all 524 recipes in the span of a year.

Now that’s accountability. And as a result, her efforts resulted in a book and a movie. Hmm…I suppose I’m doing that very thing, only on a much smaller scale. I promised myself I’d blog once a week come H.E. double hockey sticks or high water.

Share your thoughts on who or what inspired you this week.

Until next week,

Dare to Dream Large

About Tracy Campbell

Tracy Campbell is a published artist of calendars, wrapping paper, and gift cards, and as an author of how-to-paint magazine articles, her happy heart sings again sharing the work of her hands through "Calm Coloring: Faith, Hope & Love (Art and Soul Therapy for Kids-At-Heart)". When Tracy's not writing, she loves to sharpen pencils, flip open paint lids, and yank off marker caps to create whimsical works of art just for ewe. Customers say her art is sweet and so warm the designs might leap off the page and land right in your heart. She lives with her hubby and fur baby in Wasaga Beach (the Canadian tourist town known for having the longest freshwater beach in the world). Tracy is also a rare breed dog owner, chocoholic, motorcycle mamma, antique lover, and a collector of roosters and sheep (thankfully, not live ones).

4 responses »

  1. Let’s see…Who has inspired me this week? You have. This post is great. Lisa at girlswithpens.com did with her transparent post “This is Really About That” (October 20). Les Stobbe (agent) did with his realistic insights and encouraging emails. And the list goes on.

Leave a Reply

