Book Review – White Collar Skid Row

Standard

In January, I signed up with BookCrash. A free book to review, enticed me. “Free” being the operative word. But nothing is free. There’s a price to pay. I promised to provide an “honest” review for “White Collar Skid Row”, a true story written by Melissa Ann Bell.

So I’ll jump right in. The front cover and the title captured my attention. The back blurb intrigued me.

“Think it Can’t Happen to You? Melissa’s faith was strong; she knew she could never fall for the wrong guy. But when she met a charming doctor who was in rehab for alcoholism, their love challenged all she believed to be true about herself.”

The book is the account one woman’s transformation from caregiver to enabler, and her desperate attempts to control her husband’s dysfunctional behavior. This book may appeal to others dealing with a spouse addicted to drugs and alcohol. It makes one realize you can’t change someone’s behavior. They have to want change. The dialogue was realistic and projected a Christian viewpoint.

Melissa Ann Bell’s compassion for her family and her husband was admirable. I commend this author for sharing her story and her faith. And anyone that lives within the confines of a dysfunctional marriage for 25 years deserves two gold medals.

However, the font was small. The margins were only a quarter-inch. This could have easily been a 500 page book. When I’m engrossed in a good book, I can finish it in six hours. This one took six weeks.

I didn’t find the story gripping. She “told” her story rather than “showing” me what took place. There were sections that appealed to me. But when I started to picture an event unfolding–poof, I was transported elsewhere. There were issues with sentence structure and punctuation.

The epilogue tied up the ends. I would have preferred a condensed version.

To comply with the Federal Trade Commission’s regulations, I must mention that the publisher provided me with a complimentary copy of the book through BookCrash.

About Tracy Campbell

Tracy Campbell is a published artist of calendars, wrapping paper, and gift cards, and as an author of how-to-paint magazine articles, her happy heart sings again sharing the work of her hands through "Calm Coloring: Faith, Hope & Love (Art and Soul Therapy for Kids-At-Heart)". When Tracy's not writing, she loves to sharpen pencils, flip open paint lids, and yank off marker caps to create whimsical works of art just for ewe. Customers say her art is sweet and so warm the designs might leap off the page and land right in your heart. She lives with her hubby and fur baby in Wasaga Beach (the Canadian tourist town known for having the longest freshwater beach in the world). Tracy is also a rare breed dog owner, chocoholic, motorcycle mamma, antique lover, and a collector of roosters and sheep (thankfully, not live ones).

One response »

Leave a Reply

