Why Celebrate Mother’s Day?

Image

Because…

M…Mothers are the best

O…Older, smarter, and wiser

T…Tough love they dish out

H…Hearts brimming with love

E…Earnestly wanting what’s best

R…Ready to listen, day or night

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day. Did anyone need a reminder? Canadians celebrate Mother’s Day the second Sunday in May and it’s the most popular festival after Christmas and Valentine’s Day. A day to pay tribute to your mother for all the support and love she showers on you.

In the United Kingdom, Mother’s Day is also known as Mothering Sunday. The holiday dates back centuries. Children were often sent off to work in other villages and Mothering Sunday became a day for children to visit their families. Mother’s Day is celebrated on the fourth Sunday of Lent.

But no matter the day or month, Mother’s should be honoured every day.

There are four reasons that come to mind about why one can’t share this day with mom.

Mom has passed away. If so, why not spend the day with a woman who is alone? You’ll make her day. And don’t forget to tell her what a great woman she is.

Mom may have Alzheimer’s and unfortunately she doesn’t remember you. If so, pour over photos and relive the wonderful memories you once shared.

Mom lives too far away. If so, pick up the phone and thank her for all the amazing things she’s done for you.

Mom and you are estranged. If so, put the past behind you. Reach out, and mend the relationship. If it’s too difficult to call, at least send an email. Life is too short for regrets.

I’m blessed to have a marvelous mom and I plan on spoiling her.

“Mother, the ribbons of your love are woven around my heart.”

Author Unknown

Happy Mother’s Day to mommies everywhere.

What are your plans for Mother’s Day?

If you’ve read this far down the page, I hope you enjoyed this post. If so, please leave a comment. Oh yes, and enter your email address after clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button to receive free updates every time I post.

Thanks for visiting!

12 responses »

  1. For many years my mom was just that…mom. Nothing special, no earthshattering accomplishments, no Hollywood stars…just mom. Consistency was expected of her, To be home, on call, meals ready for us, bandaids ready for our damages, teach Sunday school, run a Brownie Group, manage family finances and never changing…and yes, somewhat unappreciated. it wasn’t until one day in my teens when I overheard her on the phone…many times. Yes, many other moms were calling my mom for advice on what to do with their own teenagers. It made me take notice. Perhaps in her consistency she was doing exactly what she was called to do. She never told people what to do but rather what SHE would do in a particular situation. I realized that she was respected by so many, and I was so proud of her.

    Today my mom is up in years, but like her mom, she takes care of the ‘old’ people whenever and however she can.

    Mom has been a servant to so many over the years and I’m certain there is a reward awaiting her in Heaven. Until that day, she will serve, of this I am sure.

    I think for Mother’s Day I will call my mom and read these words to her…for they come from my heart.

    Happy Mother’s Day.

  2. Hey tracy can i read your poem on sunday for church? Although as a mum I must say I dont feel wiser at all. i use to think my mum knew everything and that when I became a mum I would know too. Now I am a mum and I dont know everything-in fact very little-at times it is very unnerving ….I am grateful for my mum-she is a wonderful example and encourager to me!

    • I’d be honoured, P. Becky. Your experience was different than mine. I thought my mom didn’t know anything. Of course, that was during my rebellious teenage years. Today, she’s knows everything. I’m sure if you share what you just wrote with your mom, she’ll
      probably tell you she felt the same way you do. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I love that last point you made. Situations and impacts in terms of estranged families are all so very different – but if it weren’t for our mothers (and fathers!) we wouldn’t be here today to hopefully appreciate life.

Leave a Reply

