Do You Need Inspiration to Achieve Your Goals?

Image

Illustration courtesy of http://www.imageshack.us

Influence others positively by being a teacher, coach,

counselor, or mentor.”

Stephen Post, PhD and Jill Neimark, Why Good Things Happen to Good People


I don’t “feel” like posting today. I’m pooped—worked too many hours this week (12 most days). I have no clue again, what I’ll write about. So I scratch my head and think, and think, and pray. Poof! Another brilliant idea pops into my head. Ah, I’ll write a post about other bloggers who may not realize what an inspiration and encouragement they are to me.

I’ve mentioned before, blogging isn’t just about tooting my horn, it’s about building relationships and offering encouragement. I need inspiration every day. I need inspiration to move forward with my creative endeavours, to foster positive thoughts, and to feed my emotional and spiritual sides. And I need to stimulate my mind so I don’t end up with Alzheimer’s (hopefully).

So without further ado…drum roll please. I’ll direct the spotlight on a few blogs (not in any particular order) that I follow for encouragement, inspiration, and writing advice. Oh yes, and to tickle my funny bone.

Marcy Kennedy is a fantasy writer, freelance editor, and writing instructor who believes there’s always hope. She says, “Sometimes you just have to dig a little harder to find it.” Marcy “does” make me dig hard and deep, and wide.

Stephanie Nickel’s blog title pretty much sums up her wide range of eclectic interests. She says, “The “everything but…” stands for “everything but the kitchen sink. As you can tell from Confessions…the kitchen sink and I don’t spend a lot of time together.” Stephanie is one of my cheerleaders and she makes me laugh.

Brenda J. Wood delivers messages from the heart for daily living. Daily, I read her book Heartfelt Devotionals, a contemporary devotional for today’s women. Brenda makes me laugh and cry.

Kristen Lamb is the author of the best-selling books We Are Not Alone—The Writer’s Guide to Social Media and Are You There, Blog? It’s Me, Writer. Kristen’s posts give me the impetus I need to move forward with my creative endeavors.

Visit Janice Hardy’s blog, The Other Side of the Story, where you can chat with her about writing. I read every single post and file them under “exceptional writing tips.”

Susanna Leonard Hill is an author of books for children. Check out Airplane Flight, April Fool, Phyllis!, Can’t Sleep Without Sheep, Freight Train Trip, No Sword Fighting In The House, Not Yet, Rose, Punxsutawney Phyllis, Taxi, and The House That Mack Built. She shares her adventures in the wonderful world of children’s literature with parents, teachers, librarians, and other writers. I follow Susanna around like a puppy dog, eager to learn all I can about writing for children.

Thank you, ladies! Even though I may not comment that often on your blogs, just know you inspire and help me to achieve my goals. And you were the inspiration for this post.

And to all of you who take time to pop by and read my posts, to those who “like” them, and to those who comment, I just want to say…thank you!

If you’ve read this far down the page, I hope you enjoyed this post. If so, please leave a comment. Oh yes, and enter your email address after clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button to receive free updates every time I post.

Thanks for visiting!

18 responses »

  1. Tracy thank you for reminding us why we write blogs, stories, books, paint and create…It connects us to our source and to each other…our connection to each other is a basic instinct and it gives us a feeling of love and inspiration…we often think we want to ‘be loved’, when all we really want is ‘to love’…Thank you for reaching out and reminding those people that they inspire you…You feel the love and they do too…Our connection to each other is so important and special…very inspiring! This idea of connection and art has been on my mind lately…Thank you for inspiring in your acknowledgement of others…

  2. Tracy…thank you for a wonderful post! I shared it on Twitter and Facebook because I believe you are spot-on about how we can inspire or motivate others…or others can inspire or motivate us…by a word, a blog post, a smile. Have a great weekend. 🙂 And I am already a Susanna fan…I will check out your other inspiring bloggers!

  3. It’s great how other people inspire us. Often I find when I am struggling to understand something about writing or the industry, I find the answer from the blogs I visit, and the people who so generously share their own insights. 🙂

    • You’re so right. And to think with just a click of button, we can draw on other writers’ expertise and experience. Thank goodness or I’d still be a tadpole stuck in black muck.
      Thanks for the visit, Angela.

  4. Tracey, Thank you so much for liking my blog and for writing this one. I am trying to learn how to do this social networking. Your list of good blogs to visit is wonderful. I intend to check them out and subscribe to the ones that speak to me. Thanks again. Janet

Leave a Reply

