Week 8 – Summer Short & Sweet – Final Challenge – Have You Thrown a Hissy Fit Lately?

Standard

“Do whatever you do intensely” – Robert Henri

Well, Susanna Leonard Hill, I thought Week 8 would be breeze, but I tripped and stumbled through your last challenge. Heather Newman’s painting made me gasp. One,–it’s lovely. And two,—a dragon, a castle, a knight, a damsel, and, and, and,–oh my! 🙂

Badge created by Loni Edwards

The last challenge was to write a piece based on Heather Newman’s lovely artwork, and Susanna’s tough criteria.

Artwork created by Heather Newman

1.  A pitch for a children’s story, any level (please specify PB (picture book), ER (early reader), CB (chapter book), MG (middle grade), or YA (young adult)) based on the picture, in the manner of Short & Sweet Week 6

2.  The first 50-100 words (more or less – whatever gets the creative juices flowing) of a children’s story, any level, (please specify PB, ER, CB, MG, YA) based on the picture.

3.  The last 50-100 words (again, more or less is fine – whatever works for you :)) of a children’s story, any level (please specify PB, ER, CB, MG, YA) based on the picture.

4.  Choose a character (there are at least 10 possibilities!) from the picture and introduce us to him or her – who he/she is, where he/she came from, how he/she got into this situation – a character sketch of sorts.

5.  Choose a character and give us a one paragraph synopsis of the story told by the picture from his/her point of view.

6.  The title of the story told by this picture – give us a good one! (Again please specify level).

7.  A poem following the rules from Short & Sweet Week 3 based in some way on this picture.

I persevered and crossed the finish line. Phew!

#6 – The title

Hot-headed Harold And His Hissy Fits (PB)

#1 – The picture book pitch

When a hot-headed lad finds his older sister locked in a tower, he has a hissy fit. Now Harold must steal the golden key from the ornery hag’s raven, slay the dragon, and rescue distressed Rampina before the dark knight claims her for his bride.

Thank you, Susanna. The challenges were fun, intriguing, and tough. I look forward to participating in future ones.

What challenges have you overcome in the last eight weeks?

Please leave a comment if you’ve enjoyed this post.

And if you would like to receive free updates every time I post, enter your email address.

Thanks for visiting!

About Tracy Campbell

Tracy Campbell is a published artist of calendars, wrapping paper, and gift cards, and as an author of how-to-paint magazine articles, her happy heart sings again sharing the work of her hands through "Calm Coloring: Faith, Hope & Love (Art and Soul Therapy for Kids-At-Heart)". When Tracy's not writing, she loves to sharpen pencils, flip open paint lids, and yank off marker caps to create whimsical works of art just for ewe. Customers say her art is sweet and so warm the designs might leap off the page and land right in your heart. She lives with her hubby and fur baby in Wasaga Beach (the Canadian tourist town known for having the longest freshwater beach in the world). Tracy is also a rare breed dog owner, chocoholic, motorcycle mamma, antique lover, and a collector of roosters and sheep (thankfully, not live ones).

18 responses »

  1. Wow that’s an awful lot packed into two teeny lines…..I’d sign you up on the spot. Love Ya Tracy….thanks for a summer of brain busting feats of strength….great job!!!!

    • Again, Susanna, I want to thank you so much for all your hard work in coming up with eight weeks of material.
      It’s stretched me as a writer. I don’t know how you manage and still have time to write.
      Like I’ve said before, you inspire me! 🙂

  2. Love your use of the H words Tracy…’hag… hissy… hot headed… Harold’…it’s so interesting how we all see things so differently…and it changes minute by minute…I see ‘the hag’ as ‘a wizard’…for the time being…great intro…enjoy reading all your posts…

    • I love alliteration, hence I used hag instead of wizard. LOL
      Karen, I’m so pleased you participated in Susanna’s challenge.
      I’m sure you were stretched as much as I was.
      And thank you for faithfully commenting.

  3. You are welcome and yes I was very stretched to the point of being uncomfortable for awhile…but after talking with you, I decided to ‘just do it’…glad I did…thanks again…Did it come up for you that I posted a week 8 on my blog? I posted a new pitch… I’m not too sure what is wrong with the blog but I posted in Susanna’s blog also…Not sure if it showed up for you or not…and thanks for reading my posts too…very much appreciated…

  4. Tracy…sorry I didn’t get to see this until tonight…I was kind of busy with that TV bully segment…and then so relieved when it was over, I took a day off from reading blogs. 🙂
    I love love love your title and pitch…how did you fit all of that in there! Can’t wait to read your story. 🙂 Have a beautiful weekend! And a Happy Labor Day!

    • Oh my goodness, Vivian. Don’t apologize. I watched the segment – fantastic!
      Thanks for your encouraging comment on my pitch.
      I wrote the story and fit it all in, but my first draft is sitting at 820 words.
      Now it needs to percolate.
      And I hope you have a wonderful, restful long weekend!
      Happy Writing

Leave a Reply

